Workout Clothes in Plus Size

So Let’s face it…Most of us are not a size 2 when we start working out, but we still need workout clothes. I found it to be so hard to find cute workout clothes in plus sizes that I decided to dedicate this blog entry to the plus size women who wants cute workout clothes and can’t buy them in the store. We’ve all had those clerks look at us like we had grown another head when we ask do you carry this in a 1x, 2x…….etc.

Before I give you a list of places to look for plus size activewear, there are a few things to look for in the clothes before you buy them. First, what activity are you going to be doing in them? Will they stretch with you as you do your workout? What kind of material is it made of? If you are going to sweat a lot during your workout the best thing you can do for yourself is to NOT wear a cotton t-shirt. Trust me on this one and you will not regret it. The last thing you want is to have huge sweat stains under your arms. Also keep in mind the weather when choosing your sleeves, tank, short or long….It’s up to you to decided, but remember to keep it in mind so you are wearing the best option.

Don’t forget all the pieces. Shoes: Always pick up a pair of comfortable, supporting shoes. It will make your workout that much easier on your body. Top: Do you need one to cover yourself? You decide. Bottoms: Pants, Capri’s, Shorts, and even Skirts….which ones will you go for? Sports Bra: Let’s be real if you are looking for a plus size workout outfit, You will not be properly supported with a shelf bra or built-in bra from the top you pick. Please pick a sports bra or two (We’ve all done it.) to help you get properly supported. You also should maybe pick up some good workout Socks and maybe a few hairbands to hold your hair back.

   Shoes

The last place I went for shoes was Lady Foot Locker. I got the best customer service there and they really helped me pick the right pair of shoes for my activity and the way I walked. I thought the guy there was amazing. If he had not helped me, I would have walked out with a pair of shoes that would have hurt my feet after a week.

Clothes

The first place I’d have to recommend is Target. Are the clothes super cute? No, but they are super affordable and yes they do have a few to choose from 🙂 I also like the fact that they carry multiple brands.

Lane Bryant has a line of activewear for the plus size woman that includes everything from hairbands to socks. There are some cute options online to choose from too. I recommend checking it out.

I like Always for Me as well. They do not always have cute stuff, but they are pretty true to size and I have found some swimwear on that site the I have ended up loving. It is great to order something online that actually fits.

I also like to shop at Kohl’s for clothing. I have always found the prices reasonable and loved their sales. They have a few brands that they offer so you won’t be short on choices and you may find all your needs met with one trip to the store.

Someone recommended I look at Juno Active. I went to their website and looked through their clothes and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. The clothes look well designed for the plus size woman and look pretty comfortable. I have not tried any of the clothing there, so I can’t give my personal approval. I’d love to hear from anyone who has tried their clothes though.

 

Sports Bras

The cutest Bra’s I’ve found have got to be the ones at Kiava. I am including them on this list, however they only go up to a size XXL which is a downfall in my opinion. They are continually expanding so I am hopeful they will continue to grow their sizes.

I have used Champion Sports bras in the past and loved them. My personal favorite is the zip front bra. It is supportive, comfortable and easy to get into. I have bought them from Target and from Walmart, however in store it is sometimes hard to find the size you need.

Workout clothes don’t need to be bought somewhere that clearly does not have the plus size woman in mind when they made them. Don’t fall into the trap of buying it just because you need something to wear while you work out. There are lots of companies out there that make cute workout clothes for woman who are not already perfectly fit and are working to get fit. I know this blog entry does not have much listed at the moment as far as where to look. I am writing this with mostly my experience. If I find more places to purchase cute clothes I will look into updating this entry or starting a new one. Until then Stay Active!

Leave a Reply

