Working Out While Traveling

As you may have noticed, I have not posted in a while. Traveling is fun, but it is a challenge to keep up a “normal” schedule for most everything. I am sure most of you would agree. This is no different for maintaining a constant workout schedule. If you are like me you are asking yourself, “Why should I bother to workout on my vacation? I’m on vacation. I should be able to just relax and have fun.” I have given myself all kinds of excuses about why I shouldn’t workout when I travel or am on vacation and I never have. This time around though I was determined for it to be different.

I knew that I did not want the work I had been doing to go away. I like my body too much to want to see it disintegrate back to the body it was. Don’t get me wrong, I still have quite a way to go before I hit a target weight that I will be happy with, but I have been working out and changing my body for 5 months. I did not want to give up all the good habits I have been training myself in. I am happy with what I have done and am doing. I want to keep that up. That being said. I knew it was going to be difficult, but I was determined to do it.

The first step I took was to keep myself accountable. I did this by warning my family that I was going to be working out every day I was visiting. That I had a schedule of doing it in the morning. If they had things they wanted to do together then that was great, but I needed notice so I could get up early and workout. It helps to have someone know that this is my plan and I intend to keep up with my schedule. It makes me think ok they are watching for me to continue on this workout plan that I have been doing. I need to keep it up.

The next step I took was to write out that I needed to pack my workout equipment, clothing, and dvds. I also checked my schedule for the whole time I was going to be gone to make sure I had all the right stuff. I am currently doing the Turbo Fire program so there are no free weights or anything to pack, but I made sure my resistance bands and dvds were in my suitcase for sure. In other words, plan for success.

When I got to my sister’s house, I was pleasantly surprised to find that she wanted to workout with me. YAY, a workout buddy! Then I found out when she was available……early mornings…..ugggg not my forte for sure, but I was excited for the buddy. I have been getting up early so that she could workout with my for the past week and a half and I have survived. lol

So far, I have been able to keep to my workout goals and continue to lose weight while traveling, just by remembering to plan ahead, keeping myself accountable, and motivating myself. I have still been enjoying my visit and relaxing, but with the added bonus of keeping myself going with my active healthy lifestyle change. I have no doubt that if I can do it, you can too! Stay Active People!

Leave a Reply

