Eating While Traveling

Eating healthy is always a struggle, but never more so than when you are traveling. As I have shared before I am on a continuing journey to workout and eat healthy in order to lose weight. I have not met my goal yet, so as I am traveling to visit my family this month I am working hard to maintain healthy eating habits and not fall behind in my uphill battle.

You don’t have a lot of control over what you eat when you are traveling. I have been staying with my family and enjoying the privilege of not having to cook for me and my family. The down side of this is I don’t get to pick what we eat. I have come up with a way to handle this that works perfectly and needs no scales and calculations it is so easy. Portion control…..that’s it. Look at the food you have available to eat. Tell yourself you only need 1/4 of a plate of meat, 1/4 of the plate is carbs the rest veggies. If it’s a casserole or hot dish, take a small portion. Drink lots of water to help you fill up. I have found it’s easy to overfill my plate because someone else is cooking and it’s food I haven’t eaten in a while. It looks so good, but you have to control yourself. You can do it though. You will be surprised at how naturally it will come, if you continue the same healthy eating habits that you had been practicing before you went on vacation.

Eating out is REAL! When you are traveling eating out happens, sometimes more than other times. Please remember how to east when eating out. Only eat about half of what you are going to get served. If you find it is too much temptation to leave it on your plate, then ask for a takeout box right at the start of your meal and put half in the box right away. This will also make a great meal for the next day. šŸ™‚

The best tip I have for you while traveling is to remember to track your calories. There are many calorie apps that are easy to use. My personal favorite is My Fitness Pal. It has a large database of recipes and foods that are already in it. Chances are you will be able to find the food you ate pretty quickly. When you keep track of what you have eaten you will quickly realize how much food you can eat, and what kind of calories you have for the rest of the day. It is a great way to keep on target. No matter what app you use or what method you use for tracking what food you put in you mouth, I highly recommend tracking it. The food you consume is will affect the results you see.

Leave a Reply

