First Hiking Review – Makapuʻu Point Lighthouse Trail, Waimanalo, HI

Makapuʻu Point Lighthouse Trail, Waimanalo, HI

            The light house trail was my first hike in Hawaii. I was so unprepared, I didn’t bring sunscreen, I was counting on pushing my 18 month old in the stroller and I guess I was expecting a mild walk to a light houses. Boy was I in for a surprise! I went on this hike with my sister and her two girls, we arrived and parking was pretty full so we had to park up the hill and walk down to the trail head. We got to the trail head and then remembered that the sunscreen was in the car, but we were like “ehh, it’s cloudy, we aren’t gonna need it.” AHH! Terrible thought! About halfway up the trail the clouds disappeared and the sun got its revenge! So here I am, new to the island (as pale as a ghost) pushing my 18 month old in the stroller that has been packed full of water for 5, picnic blanket and lunch, and the diaper bag. Did I mention that the trail starts at the bottom of the hill and then goes straight up?

Welcome to Hawaii! I huffed and puffed my way up the trail, cursing the teenagers running by me like it’s nothing. When we got halfway to the top I saw that they were going to a swimming hole! Be prepared to climb down a cliff to get to the swimming hole but it looked so fun! So on we continued to the top and were rewarded by the most beautiful views! We looked down on the lighthouse on one side and along the coast from the other.

The whole trail was stroller friendly (if you are in shape) but there are no bathrooms along the way. This is important to note if you are keeping properly hydrated 🙂 I’d recommend if you have a Tula or an Ergo baby carrier to use it. While it was paved and you could push a stroller, it would be more comfortable to wear the baby. The stroller gets heavier and heavier the closer to the top you get and then it practically pulls you down the trail!

There is little to no shade along the trail so bring that sunscreen and reapply often! All in all the views are fantastic and in the winter you can go there to see the whales. If you are making a list of things to bring make sure it includes water, sunscreen, a hat if you like (it’s pretty windy), some walking shoes (no flip-flops!), camera, and your swimming gear if you want to take a dip in the lagoons below the trail. Have a blast!

Written By: Holly Smith

 

Ages: Good for All Ages

Essential Equipment: Sunscreen, Water, Camera, Walking Shoes

Stroller Accessible: Yes

Terrain: Paved and Steep

Time Spent: 3 Hours (including our picnic at the top)

Length: 2 Miles

 

Just as a side note, Please remember to always stay hydrated and wear proper shoes and clothing when you are hiking. If in doubt, don’t risk your safety or health. Thank you everyone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

