Halloween Parties and all those Yummy things to eat!

I say Halloween and you think costumes and trick or treating.

I say Halloween Party and you think music, drinks, food and fun.

I’m writing this to remind me as much as to remind you, that no matter what reasons we started, where or when we started, we started a healthy lifestyle for a reason. We do not need to back-slide during this Holiday Season. Even if you haven’t lost any weight, you have still started healthy habits. Habits that you intend on keeping for the rest of your life.

This is my first Halloween since starting this journey. I am not going to profess to be an expert that I am most definitely not. However, I am going to encourage you when you are making your plans to keep your goals upper most in your mind and make wise choices. Maybe you shouldn’t eat certain things or drink as much or maybe you need to host your own Halloween party so you can have healthy food options for yourself. If you are like me, you may have friends who have annual parties that you feel obligated to attend. Great! Pack a snack bag to take with you and limit yourself to one drink. Yes, it is possible. You’d be surprised how slowly you can drink that one drink and make it last, when you know it’s the only one you are going to drink all night.

I know some of you are shaking your heads at this and thinking to yourself, “That does not sound like a fun party, at all!” I guess that depends on your reasons for going to the party and again, your reasons for changing your lifestyle. If you are committed to those reasons, then you will not let this Holiday Season change your mind.

I am not going try to change anyone’s mind, but I am changing my life for my kids, husband and most importantly for me! I got tired of being tired and having no energy, of being ashamed of myself for letting myself get as far as I did, and of feeling like I was at risk of having a heart attack any day. I’m not on the other side of it yet, but I am in the middle of it. So far, I like who I am becoming. I like feeling like I could jump up and run around playing tag with the kids. I like feeling lighter and not feeling it in my knees. I like the fact that other people are noticing and commenting on it! I have worked too hard to let a holiday season beat me!

I love the holiday season! Christmas is my favorite, but I love the fall decorations and smells. 🙂 This season is going to be tough, but if you’re determined to stay the course you can and will. I’m not saying don’t have fun, just be responsible for the kind of fun you allow yourself to have. You don’t have to eat fatty foods to have fun. You don’t have to get smashed to have fun. You don’t have to eat as many sweets as you did when you were a kid to have fun.

Just remember “You Can Do It!”

Leave a Reply

