Make Time

I don’t have time to workout. I’m too busy. My kids come first.

I’m too tired.

I’m too sore. I don’t feel like it.

I’m pretty sure, everyone has used one of these excuses at some point or another to NOT workout. It is easy to fall for them and convince yourself that they are a really good reason to not workout. I know I have used all of them. The problem is that once you start down this path it is nearly impossible to recover from it. It becomes easier and easier to come up with new excuses to not workout or to use the same one over and over again, until you realize one day that you have only worked out once this week and eventually you just don’t care.

You need to care though. At some point you decided it was important. Is it still important to change your body and lifestyle. I think it is. Everyday I see how my body is changing and I love it! Everyone should be as lucky. Even the weeks where I get on the scale and don’t see any changes, I see my leg muscle strengthening. I see my waist getting skinnier. I see my face slimming. All of these things encourage me to keep going, but everyday I do something simple to make sure I can keep going. I make time.

I love my kids, but I am important too. I give all of me to them everyday all day long. The only way I can give myself time to workout is to workout BEFORE everyone in the house wakes up. Yes, this means I have to get up early. For some people this may not seem like such a big deal, but for me it is a huge deal! I am NOT a morning person. I have to say that again so it sinks in and you have no doubt about it, I am NOT a morning person.

It was not easy for me to start working out in the morning because of this. How did you do it then you ask? Well, I started going to bed earlier. I told myself I had to do it and didn’t give myself a choice. If I was too tired to work out then to me that meant I was too tired to change and that was not an option for me. I needed to change and still do.

For those of you that say to yourself, I don’t have time to workout. I am saying to you, “You don’t have time not to workout.” There are 24 hours in a day. When you first start working out, get a workout that only takes 30 minutes. If you give yourself 30 extra minutes to shower afterwards, you still have 23 hours to sleep, eat, work, take care of kids, get together with friends, and whatever else you schedule throughout the day. Thirty minutes isn’t that long in the grand scheme of things. Start thinking to yourself, I’m not tired. I can do 30 minutes. If the shower has to wait, it can wait. Believe me that has happened many times to me. I have showered at 2pm before, but I have felt great all day. I got my workout in even though my morning was interrupted by other things.

I know that saying your kids come first is not a valid excuse for not working out is something some people would disagree with. However, I am not saying that your kids are not important. My kids are my top priority and I do think they are so much more important than myself. What I am saying is this, your kids need you to be the best you that you can be. The best you that you can be is a person that is healthy, energetic, and happy. I am thinking that for them if for no one else you can wake up before they do and get moving and making yourself into that person.

As for the sore part, I am not saying to work through any pain that is too severe. Don’t hurt yourself and if you are unsure of any injury, please go see a doctor. If you are feeling any muscle soreness from your ab workout though, keep going the next day. A lot of muscle soreness can be worked out by continuing to work those muscles. It sounds counter productive, but believe me it works.

Be proud of yourself and work hard towards your goals. You can do it! Don’t let anything stop you from continuing on and reaching your goals. A lot of what slows you down can be overcome mentally. Gather people around you that encourage your efforts. Talk to energetic people to physic yourself up. Give yourself little goals to reach and rewards when you do. Eat healthy so you can attain those goals faster. If you do what you always did, you will get what you always got. Change yourself by changing what you are doing and Stay Active!

Leave a Reply

