Geocaching

I first heard of Geocaching from my sister, who heard of it through her new husband. It’s something that is not widely know about, so now you are asking yourself, “What is geocaching?” According to the geocaching website, “Geocaching is a real-world, outdoor treasure hunting game using GPS-enabled devices. Participants navigate to a specific set of GPS coordinates and then attempt to find the geocache (container) hidden at that location.”

If you are like me, I thought to myself, “Why would you want to do something like this?” I was curious though so I asked my sister where do I start? She led me to the website and the app by geocaching. It has a lot of useful information. Where to start, rules, where they are located and a great community of people who love to geocache.

Oh and in case you are wondering, I decided to try geocaching because of curiosity first. After my first find, I was hooked. It was a treasure hunt. I was the hunter and the cache was my treasure. Finding it with a GPS location is a lot harder than you would think. Once you do find it, it is a rush of excitement and sometimes kudos to the person who made the cache or hid it. I have found some interesting caches. Caches can be as big as a shoebox and as small as the head of a bolt. Clues to find the cache can be very detailed or very vague. Clues and hints are generally not encouraged to be given in abundance.

The hunt, the clues, the rush of the find…..how could you not want to start finding your very first cache? Remember to bring a pen (to sign the log), your phone (to input coordinates), clothes that can get dirty, and energy to find your treasure. Good luck and Happy Hunting!

 

https://www.geocaching.com/guide/default.aspx

 

4 comments

  1. My husband and I enjoy geocaching as a way to discover new areas in our city. If don’t have plans on a weekend, we’ll check for a geocache within biking distance and it often leads us to discovering new parks and hiking trails close to home. I think its a great hobby and am happy to see you encouraging people to give it a try!

    Like

    • I’m glad to see we are not the only ones who use geocaching as a way to explore, alexisherr. It is so much fun and a great outdoor activity that can be very family friendly as well. I love the biking suggestion you made. We will have to try that as well.

      Like

Leave a comment